header shadow

People In the Lab

Principle Investigator:

Christine A. Petersen – DVM, PhD

Associate Professor
(319) 384-1579


Current Research Interests:
• Investigation of host-pathogen interaction between the murine or canine immune system/dendritic cells and Leishmania species.
• Characterization of key signaling events required to induce clearance of disease vs. chronicity.
• Understanding of processing of and immune responses to carbohydrates.
• Development of diagnostics and epidemiological studies of Brucella canis.
•Prevention of Infectious Diseases in kennel/animal shelter settings.

2004 - Ph.D. (Immunology and Infectious Diseases), Harvard School of Public Health, Boston, MA 02115
1998 - D.V.M., Cornell University, Ithaca, NY 14853
1994 - B.A. (Biology) with departmental honors, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD 21218

Current Group:

PhD Graduate Students:
     Kevin J. Esch, DVM, Immunobiology Major
     Pedro A. Martinez, M.S, Immunobiology Major

Veterinary Students:
     Alyona Avdonina, BS

Undergraduate Students:
     Rachel J. Juelsgaard, Biology Major 
     Raeann M. Shimak, Biochemistry and Genetics Major

Laboratory Technician
     Jenny Li, M.S


Dr. Jesse Hostetter

Dept. of Veterinary Pathology
Iowa State University

Drs. Vanitha Raman
Malcolm Duthie
Steve Reed
Randy Howard
Ajay Bhatia

Infectious Disease Research Institute, Seattle

Selma Jeronimo

Dept. of Biochemistry
Federal University of Rio Grande de Norte

Mary Wilson

Internal Medicine
University of Iowa

Dr. Johann F. Coetzee
Dr. Michael D. Apley

College of Veterinary Medicine
Kansas State University

Marcelo Ramalho-Ortigao

Department of Entomology
Kansas State University

Dr. Zhou (Rick) Wen
Dr. Bo Su

Department of Mathematics
Iowa State University

Dr. Bryan Bellaire
Dr. Brett A. Sponseller
Ms. Sandy Clarke

Department of Veterinary Microbiology and Preventative Medicine
College of Veterinary Medicine
Iowa State University

Dr. Michael Spurlock
Virginia M. Gladney

Professor, Nutritional Sciences
Director, Integrated and Translational Research
Nutrition & Wellness Research Center
Iowa State University

Dr. Nicola Pohl
Dr. Brian Trewyn
Students: Eun-Ho Song and Raj Roy Choudhury

Department of Chemistry
Iowa State University

Dr. Elaine Ostrander

National Human Genome Research Institute
National Institutes of Health

Dr. Leslie Fox

Department of Clinical Sciences
Iowa State University

Dr. Katie Fitzpatrick

Department of Clinical Sciences
Iowa State University
University of Missouri

Past Members:

Alex Osanya                      

Paola Boggiatto                

Katherine Gibson-Corley   

Amanda Ramer-Tait
Kyle Metz
Erin Kramer
Dennis Byrne
Rami Mukbel
Grace Duan
Fei Jie
Yannick Vanloubbeeck
Victor Soto