Alumni News

Alumna Hillary Chappo leads by example

Hillary Chappo (16MHA) is an associate director of education and accreditation initiatives at University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics and currently leads institutional and program-specific accreditation efforts across 88 medical residencies and fellowships. Published October 27, 2022

Q&A: Kori Thomas’ journey to health administration

Kori Thomas (22MHA) is currently serving as a first-year administrative fellow at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, Texas. She discusses her path to health administration, education at Iowa, and current fellowship. Published October 26, 2022

Student-run podcast spotlights public health

The “From the Front Row” podcast allows UI College of Public Health students an opportunity to hone their communication skills, meet thought leaders in the field, and educate the public on important topics. Published October 19, 2022

Connect with the college at APHA

Planning to attend the APHA Annual Meeting in Boston? View a list of CPH faculty, staff, and students who are presenting at the conference, find our exhibit booth, and attend the CPH alumni and friends reception on Nov. 7. Published October 19, 2022

From the Front Row: A conversation with the 2022 Outstanding Alumni Award winners

This week, Eric talks with Brett Faine and Ken Saag, recipients of the UI College of Public Health's 2022 Outstanding Alumni Awards. They cover a lot of ground, including their unique career paths, collaborative projects, and advice for current students. Published September 29, 2022

Alumnus Michael Berger’s research informs Iowa basic income project

During his time as an MPH student, Michael Berger (22MPH) conducted research as part of his practicum. Through a literature review of other basic income projects across the nation and by talking with community-based partners, he uncovered recommendations that are now informing planning for the Central Iowa Basic Income Pilot Project. Published September 28, 2022

Q&A with alumna Brooke Zibell

Brooke Zibell earned a BS in public health from the University of Iowa in 2021. She then went on to complete an MHS degree in environmental health. Find out how her career path blends her interests in health and the environment. Published September 21, 2022

Q&A with alumna Laura Eckles

Laura Eckles graduated from the College of Public Health in 2019 with a BA in public health. Learn more about how she discovered public health and how she uses her education in her current job as a city planner with the City of Mount Vernon, Iowa. Published September 20, 2022

Q&A with alumna Morgan Jessie

Morgan Jessie (22BA) joined the Des Moines County Public Health Department in Burlington, Iowa, after graduation. As part of a small department of 11 employees, she gets to support a variety of projects. Published September 20, 2022

Q&A with alumnus Austin Wu

Austin Wu earned both a BA in public health in 2020 and an MPH in policy in 2021 from the University of Iowa College of Public Health. Learn more how he puts his education to work in his job as a safety policy specialist. What is your hometown and state? My hometown and state are […] Published September 20, 2022