Call for 2018 Hansen Award nominations

The University of Iowa College of Public Health invites CPH faculty, staff, and students to submit nominations for the 2018 Richard and Barbara Hansen Leadership Award and Distinguished Lectureship.

The Hansen Award recognizes individuals in the public health field who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and made enduring and nationally significant contributions to improving public health. Award recipients are invited to the University of Iowa campus to deliver a formal lecture and participate in seminars, small group activities, and other campus events. See additional information about the Hansen Award.

To make a nomination, submit the following information via email to Dan McMillan, CPH Director of Communications and External Relations:

  • Nominee’s name
  • Nominee’s current professional position (former position, if retired)
  • A brief biographical summary (maximum 200 words) describing the nominee’s major accomplishments, public health contributions, and specific area(s) of impact or interest. See example summary below.

Deadline for nominations is January 31, 2018. 

Example summary

Byllye Avery is a long-time health care activist dedicated to bettering the welfare of low-income African American women through self-help groups and advocacy networks. She is the founder of The Avery Institute for Social Change and the Black Women’s Health Imperative. Avery has written and lectured widely on how race, sex, and class affect women’s empowerment in the women’s health movement. She is the recipient of a MacArthur Foundation Fellowship (1989), the Institute of Medicine’s Gustav O. Lienhard Award (1994), and the Ruth Bader Ginsburg Award for a Pioneer in Women’s Rights (2008). She has served as a clinical professor at the Columbia Mailman School of Public Health, an advisor to the National Institutes of Health, and a visiting fellow at the Harvard School of Public Health.


Questions or comments? Contact CPH Webmaster. This page was last reviewed on December 7, 2017.