GPCAH Advisory Committees

External Advisory Committee

The External Advisory Committee provides national- and international-level expertise in critical areas of current and future agricultural safety and health needs.  These seven advisers meet annually to evaluate projects, identify emerging issues, and recommend ways to improve work across all types of disciplines.






David Hard Agricultural Safety and Health Scientist NIOSH Division of Safety Research Morgantown, WV
Jennifer Koeman Director of Producer and Public Health National Pork Board Clive, IA
Jane Hoppin Deputy Director

Center for Human Health and the Environment,

NC State University

Raleigh, NC
Risto Rautiainen Director

Central States Center for Agricultural Safety and Health

University of NE Medical Center

Omaha, NE
Rick Weires Manager, Product Safety Deere and Company Moline, IL
Paul Gunderson Director Dakota Precision Ag Center Devil’s Lake, ND
Chad Higgins Senior Director ISU Extension and Outreach Ames, IA


Regional Advisory Committee

The regional advisory committee provides communication between the Center and a robust group of community partners. These partners include agricultural extension agents, outreach coordinators from other regional NIOSH AFF Centers, producer groups, a veterinarian, health providers, agricultural education centers, and two safety and health outreach programs.





Peg Bouska Proteus Iowa City, IA
Shari Burgus Farm Safety for Just Kids Urbandale, IA
Dan Neenan National Education Center for Agricultural Safety (NECAS) Peosta, IA
Carolyn Sheridan AgriSafe Network Spencer, IA
Ellen Duysen Central States Center for Agricultural Safety and Health (CS-CASH) Omaha, NE
Ruth Rasmussen Upper Midwest Agricultural Safety and Health Center (UMASH) Minneapolis, MN
Bob Aherin University of Illinois Extension Champaign, IL
Erin Cortus South Dakota State University Extension Brookings, SD
Kerri Ebert Kansas State Extension Manhattan, KS
Karen Funkenbush University of Missouri Extension Columbia, MO
Sherry Nielsen University of Nebraska Extension Minden, NE
Connie Smith Wisconsin Center for Diary Farm Safety River Falls, WI
Alejandro Rameriz Iowa State University Veterinary Medicine Ames, IA
Karen Hoare National Pork Board Clive, IA