Baquero honored with UI Diversity Catalyst Award

A portrait of Barbara Baquero of the Department of Community and Behavior Health at the University of Iowa College of Public Health.Barbara Baquero, CPH assistant professor of community and behavioral health and deputy director of the UI Prevention Research Center, was honored April 11 with a University of Iowa Diversity Catalyst Award.

Sponsored by the Chief Diversity Office and the Office of Equal Opportunity and Diversity, the Diversity Catalyst Awards are designed to honor faculty or staff members, programs or departments, and students or student organizations engaged in diversity initiatives during the previous academic year that have promoted the development of an inclusive, diverse campus community at the University of Iowa.

Baquero conducts community and behavioral health research guided by the community-based participatory research principles and the social-ecological framework. The focus of her research has been on reducing and eliminating health disparities for Latino immigrants in the U.S. through identifying, understanding, implementing and evaluating interventions that incorporate social, cultural and structural factors associated with obesity and chronic disease prevention and control. She is also a member of the Health Equity Advancement Lab (HEAL), which promotes equitable health through research, practice, and community engagement, with a particular emphasis on communities in the state of Iowa.

Congratulations, Barbara!

Lynch receives the Michael J. Brody Award

A portrait of Charles Lynch of the University of Iowa College of Public HealthCharles Lynch, CPH professor of epidemiology, is a recipient of the 2018 Michael J. Brody Award for Faculty Excellence in Service to the University and the State of Iowa.

The Brody Award is named in honor of the late Michael J. Brody, former president of the UI Faculty Senate. It recognizes outstanding faculty who have made exceptional contributions to the UI and the community.

Recipients will be recognized formally at an awards reception hosted by the Provost’s Office.

Congratulations, Chuck!

Ecklund, Toepp, and Wallace honored with UI Discovery & Innovation Awards

University of Iowa thinkers, explorers, mentors, creators, and inventors were celebrated for their work during the UI Office of Research and Economic Development’s annual Discovery & Innovation Awards Ceremony April 17. Titled “Celebrating Excellence,” the 2018 event at Hancher brought together faculty, staff, and students involved in research and scholarship as well as its translation into medical devices, startup companies, and other commercial ventures.

John Keller, interim Vice President for Research and Economic Development and dean of the Graduate College, said that because of the work being done by the people being recognized Tuesday night, “lives are being saved, prolonged, and improved, and our ideas about the vast universe we inhabit, and the innermost workings of the human body, are growing by leaps and bounds.”

Awardees from the College of Public Health included:

A portrait of Dixie Ecklund of the University of Iowa College of Public Health.Distinguished Research Administrator Award: Dixie Ecklund, Director of Operations in the College of Public Health’s Clinical Trials Statistical and Data Management Center. The award recognizes staff members at the University of Iowa who are exceptional research administrators and/or performed exceptional service in support of research. The award is co-sponsored by the Senior Vice President for Finance and Operations and the Vice President for Research & Economic Development.



A portrait of Angela Toepp of the University of Iowa College of Public Health.

Graduate Student Research Excellence Award in Biology, Life, Mathematical and Physical Sciences.  Angela Toepp, a Ph.D. candidate in the College of Public Health’s Department of Epidemiology. The awards honor graduate students in terminal degree programs conducting research and scholarly activity that is recognized as highly original work.




Leadership in Research AwardRobert Wallace, Professor in the Department of Epidemiology in the College of Public Health. This is a lifetime achievement award to honor tenure- , research- or clinical-track faculty for distinguished leadership in research and scholarship accomplishments over a career.

View a full list of the award winners.

Zwerling-Sprince Scholarship recipients announced

Congratulations to Maya Ramaswamy (pictured below on the left) and Danielle Medgyesi (right), the recipients of the 2018 Zwerling-Sprince Scholarship in Occupational and Environmental Health. The awards were presented by Professor Emerita Nancy Sprince (center).

The scholarship for graduate students pursuing areas such as occupational health, injury prevention, and rural health is named for two longtime University of Iowa faculty members — Craig Zwerling and Nancy L. Sprince of Iowa City — who served in senior leadership roles in the UI College of Public Health during a period spanning more than 20 years.

Maya Ramaswamy, Nancy Sprince, and Danielle Medgyesi

CPH Research Week poster award winners

Congratulations to the following CPH Research Week 2018 poster award winners!

CPH Poster Awards


Ryan Peterson, Biostatistics: Power and Type I Error Rate Estimation via Simulation for Multistate Endpoints – an Introduction to MSDshiny

Javier Flores, Biostatistics: A Bayesian Model Selection Approach to Multiple Comparisons


Susanne Flor, Occupational and Environmental Health: Rat PCB Inhalation Study – Do PCBs Resembling A School Indoor Air Mixture Induce Hematotoxicity In Bone Marrow Cells?

Center Poster Awards

Center for Health Effects of Environmental Contamination
Valerie Reeb, State Hygienic Laboratory: Genomic similarity of Legionella pneumophila isolated from routine monitoring of hospital premise plumbing systems

Center on Aging
Danielle Riley, Epidemiology: ADAPTABLE (Aspirin Dosing: A Patient-Centric Trial Assessing Benefits and Long-Term Effectiveness): a Greater Plains Collaborative Project

Clinical Trials Statistical and Data Management Center
Biyue Dai, Biostatistics: Comparing Cross Validation Methods for Penalized Cox Regression

Injury Prevention Research Center
Morgan Swanson, Epidemiology: Prehospital Transport Mode is Associated with Higher Undertriage Rates among Severely Injured Pediatric Patients

Rural Policy Research Institute
Adriana Maldonado, Community and Behavioral Health: Psychosocial factors contributing to uncontrolled hypertension among Latinos residing in a micropolitan city in the Midwest

Awards also supported by:
• Center for Health Policy and Research
• Healthier Workforce Center of the Midwest
• National American Indian and Alaska Native (AI & AN) Addiction Technology Transfer Center (ATTC)

Uluocha honored with 2018 Philip G. Hubbard Human Rights Award

Winnie Uluocha receives the 2018 Hubbard Award Winnie Uluocha, a JD/MHA student at the University of Iowa, was named the recipient of the 2018 Philip G. Hubbard Human Rights Award.

The Philip G. Hubbard Human Rights Award was established in 1981 in honor of Philip G. Hubbard, University of Iowa Vice President for Student Services and Dean of Academic Affairs from 1966-1989. Vice President Hubbard was selected as a faculty representative to serve on the first UI Human Rights Committee established in 1963, and dedicated himself to human rights and equal opportunity throughout his distinguished career.

Each year a University of Iowa student is selected who has made the most outstanding contribution in the area of human rights and who most exemplifies the principles held by Dr. Hubbard.