Alumni News

Alumna named to VP role at WPS Health Solutions

Alumna Kaley Wilkinson (05MHA) has been named vice president of enterprise strategy, marketing, and corporate development at WPS Health Solutions in Madison, Wisconsin. Published September 7, 2023

2023 Outstanding Alumni Award Recipients

The University of Iowa College of Public Health is pleased to announce the recipients of the college’s 2023 Outstanding Alumni Awards: Carla Britton and Kelsey Feller. All are invited to attend the awards presentation and discussion with the recipients on Wednesday, Sept. 13.  Published August 23, 2023

Alumna Michelle Niermann named to COO of UnityPoint Health – East Division

UnityPoint Health has appointed Michelle Niermann (94MA) as Chief Operating Officer (COO) for its East Division. In this elevated enterprise role, Niermann will oversee operations at UnityPoint Health hospitals in Cedar Rapids, Waterloo, Dubuque, Quad Cities, and Madison, WI.  Published August 23, 2023

Q&A with alumna Lena Thompson: Developing culturally informed practices to meet Native Elders’ health needs

Alumna Lena Thompson (14MPH, 23PhD) shares some of her experiences working alongside others to enhance Native Elders’ health and adapting programs to be more culturally responsive. Published August 22, 2023

Alumna Jennifer Braun discusses health care workforce training

Jennifer Braun (12MPH) is director of workforce and organizational development at the American Hospital Association. She recently discussed her work focused on developing health care leadership and training. Published July 27, 2023

Alumnus Pramōd Dwivedī is president of NACCHO

Pramōd Dwivedī assumed the role of president of the National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO) on July 1, 2023. He is also the health director of Linn County Public Health and a CPH alumnus (98MS). Published July 26, 2023

AHA Board names alumna Tina Freese Decker as chair-elect designate

The American Hospital Association (AHA) Board of Trustees has elected CPH alumna Christina (Tina) Freese Decker (02MHA), president and CEO of Corewell Health, as its chair-elect designate.  Published July 25, 2023

Alumna Emma Herbach recognized by Society for Epidemiologic Research

Emma Herbach (22PhD) recently received the prestigious Tyroler Student Prize Paper Award from the Society for Epidemiologic Research. Published July 25, 2023

Jim Skogsbergh to receive NCHL’s 2023 Gail L. Warden Leadership Excellence Award

Alumnus Jim Skogsbergh (82MA) has been named a co-recipient of the National Center for Healthcare Leadership's 2023 Gail L. Warden Leadership Excellence Award. Skogsbergh is the CEO of Advocate Health. Published July 13, 2023

Alumnus Azeez Alade starts NIH position, offers advice for international students

Recent epidemiology graduate Azeez Alade (23PhD) will soon start a clinical fellowship position at the National Institute for Dental and Craniofacial Research at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) in Bethesda, Maryland. He reflects back on the importance of mentors and offers advice for students.  Published July 7, 2023