Class Notes

Keep up with your classmates from the College of Public Health. Submit your Class Note here and it will be included on our website and in InSight, our alumni magazine.

Angela Speers (21MHA)

received a 2021 Iowa Governor’s Volunteer Award and was honored with an individual award by the Senior Health Insurance Information Program for helping Iowans living with and preventing HIV understand their Medicare benefits and options and fight Medicare fraud and abuse through individual counseling sessions. Speers currently works as a Tele-PrEP coordinator at University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics in Iowa City, Iowa.

Kelsey Smithart (13MPH)

has completed her medical residency in occupational and environmental medicine at the University of Colorado. Smithart is now a Physician in Occupational Medicine at UCHealth in Denver, Colorado.

Michelle Niermann (94MA)

has been recognized as a "CEO to Know" by Becker's Hospital Review for presiding over big shifts in the healthcare workforce, digital transformation, addressing healthcare inequities and more. Niermann is President and CEO of UnityPoint Health - Cedar Rapids in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.

Lawrence “Larry” Prybil (70PhD, 64MA)

has been honored as a Public Health Legend by the University of Kentucky College of Public Health, which recognizes individuals who have achieved sustained success in their field and made an outstanding contribution toward the goal of health improvement for the state of Kentucky. Prybil retired in 2021 as the Norton Professor in Healthcare Leadership from the University of Kentucky College of Public Health where he also served as Associate Dean.

Stephanie Lim (11MHA)

has been named Group Chief Strategy Officer of Palm Beach Health Network in Palm Beach County, Florida.

Stephanie Kraft Sheley (16MHA)

is the founder and director of Right By You, an all-options text line that helps Missouri youth navigate access to birth control, abortion care, birth care, and support for parenting and adoption. Kraft Sheley is also principal attorney of Kraft Sheley Law, LLC, an Illinois and Missouri firm focused on birth justice and safe access to abortion care.

Winnie Uluocha (19MHA)

has been elected to the Iowa Law School Foundation’s Board of Directors. Uluocha received her JD in 2019 and is an associate in Goodwin Procter’s Life Sciences group and Healthcare practice in Washington, DC.

Hana Hinkle (09MPH)

has been selected as a member of the 2022 class of Presidential Leadership Scholars, a diverse network of 60 leaders brought together to collaborate and create meaningful change in the U.S. and around the world as they learn about leadership through the lens of past presidential experiences. Hinkle is the interim director and department head of the University of Illinois College of Medicine Rockford’s National Center for Rural Health Professions.

Ann (DePriest) Bobst (14MPH)

is the Director of Legislative and External Affairs for the Health Care Administration at the Minnesota Department of Human Services in Saint Paul, Minnesota.

Jessica Allen (21BA)

is working remotely out of Des Moines, Iowa as a COVID-19 Health Educator for the State of North Dakota Department of Health, contracted through the CDC Foundation's COVID-19 Workforce and Vaccine Initiative.

Brooke Kensinger (05MHA)

was awarded the Iowa Hospital Association 2021 Young Executive Achievement Award which is presented to a hospital CEO under 40 who has significantly affected the community hospital or health system. Kensinger is CEO of MercyOne Elkader Medical Center in Elkader, Iowa.

Brittany Erickson (13MHA)

has been named Vice President at MercyOne Medical Group in Mason City, Iowa.

Kaitlin Emrich (09MPH)

was named deputy director of the Black Hawk County Health Department in Waterloo, Iowa.

Ryan Peterson (19PhD, 16MS)

received the Journal of Applied Statistics 2020 Best Paper Prize for his first-authored paper “Ordered quantile normalization: a semiparametric transformation built for the cross-validation era.” Peterson is currently Assistant Professor, Department of Biostatistics and Informatics at the Colorado School of Public Health in Aurora, Colorado.

Cormac O’Sullivan (08PhD)

has been elected President of The National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists which certifies 60,000 nurse anesthetists who provide a majority of all anesthesia services in hospitals across the United States. O’Sullivan is an Associate Clinical Professor and the director of the DNP program in Nurse Anesthesia and a CRNA at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics in Iowa City, Iowa.

Julie Stark Manas (85MA)

served as Chair, Board of Trustees, for the Catholic Health Association (CHA) from 2020-2021. CHA represents more than 2,200 hospitals, long-term care, and other health facilities.

Jessica M. Aguilar (08MHA)

received the Early Careerist Healthcare Executive Award from the Regent for South Dakota. Aguilar is senior executive director of Women’s, Children’s & Cancer at Sanford Health in Sioux Falls, South Dakota.

Emily Houston (21MPH, 20BA)

has been named Director of Washington County Public Health in Washington, Iowa.

Corey Boles (19PhD)

has been named to the advisory board of the Integrated Bioscience and Built Environment Consortium (IBEC). Boles is a Senior Health Scientist with Cardno ChemRisk in Blue Ash, Ohio.

Kirsten Beyer (05MPH)

has been named Milwaukee Business Journal's 2021 Researcher of the Year. Beyer is an associate professor, division of epidemiology, Institute for Health and Equity, and director of the doctorate program in public and community health at the Medical College of Wisconsin in Milwaukee, Wisconsin.