CPH faculty, student honored at annual Finkbine Dinner

Published on April 17, 2017

CPH faculty members Joe Cavanaugh and Keith Mueller and PharmD/MPH student Jasmine Mangrum were honored with awards at the University of Iowa’s annual Finkbine Dinner on April 11, 2017. Congratulations on their outstanding achievements!

Hancher-Finkbine Medallion

To recognize leadership, learning, and loyalty, the tradition of awarding Hancher-Finkbine Medallions was established in 1964. They are named for the founder of the Finkbine Dinner, William O. Finkbine, and for Virgil M. Hancher, a student guest at the first dinner who served for 24 years as president of the University, and who, to an unusual degree, exemplified the three characteristics for which the awards are given. Seven medallions are awarded annually, to four outstanding students, one professor, one staff member and a graduate who has attained special distinction.

Joseph Cavanaugh Hancher-Finkbine Medallion: Faculty Recipient

Joseph Cavanaugh, Professor and Head of Biostatistics
Hancher-Finkbine Medallion: Faculty Recipient

Jasmine Mangrum Hancher-Finkbine Medallion: Graduate/Professional Recipient
Jasmine Mangrum, Doctor of Pharmacy and Master of Public Health Student
Hancher-Finkbine Medallion: Graduate/Professional Recipient

Marion L. Huit Faculty Award

The Marion L. Huit Faculty Award was established in 1978 to recognize M. L. Huit’s outstanding dedication and service to students of The University of Iowa during his tenure as dean of students. The award is presented annually to a faculty member who best characterizes M. L. Huit’s contributions to University and community life. Dean Huit exemplified the qualities of dedication to, concern for, and interaction with students. The recipient is chosen each spring by the members of Mortar Board and ODK honor societies.

Keith J. Mueller: 2017 M.L. Huit Faculty Award











Keith J. Mueller, Gerhard Hartman Professor
and College of Public Health Interim Dean

M.L. Huit Faculty Award