Nominations for Frank H. Morriss, Jr. Leadership Award

Published on June 14, 2022

Nominations are invited for the 2023 Frank H. Morriss, Jr. Leadership Award. This award is granted in honor of Dr. Frank H. Morriss, Jr., Professor Emeritus and former Head, Department of Pediatrics, University of Iowa.

The award recognizes sustained leadership in an academic setting that has resulted in improved health or well-being of children through innovation in clinical care, investigation of children’s diseases and problems, advocacy on behalf of child health, or facilitation of collaborative efforts. The test of leadership shall be that one developed a new strategy, set a new course or direction, marshaled resources or people toward an effort, or found common ground among competing interests.

The award nominee should be a faculty member at an academic institution in the U.S. or elsewhere. The awardee will be expected to come to Iowa City and share the story of his or her leadership accomplishments. Previous award recipients are Duane F. Alexander, Thomas F. Boat, Edward B. Clark, Gary L. Freed, Ellen Wright Clayton, David K. Stevenson, Barbara J. Stoll, Kathryn M. Edwards, and Michael Artman.

Nominations, including a nomination letter and a copy of the nominee’s curriculum vitae, should be sent before August 15, 2022 to:

Michael J. Tansey, M.D.
Department of Pediatrics
University of Iowa
200 Hawkins Drive, 2028 BT
Iowa City, IA 52242