Translational science funding opportunity for all UI faculty

Published on January 3, 2020

The Western States Consortium, which includes the University of Iowa Institute for Clinical and Translational Science (ICTS) and five other Clinical and Translational Sciences Award (CTSA) Program institutions, invites all faculty to apply for a new pilot funding opportunity.

The purpose of the pilot awards is to promote inter-institutional collaboration by funding innovative, translational research projects that involve two or more of the six Western States Consortium members. Awards of up to $25,000 will be provided by each participating institution.

For additional details, visit the ICTS website and view the Request for Applications (RFA) document. If you have any questions, please contact Nic Johnson,, 319-384-5172.

In addition to ICTS, the Western States Consortium members are the University of Arkansas Medical Sciences, University of Kentucky, University of New Mexico, University of Kansas Medical Center, and University of Utah.


  • Letter of intent and draft aims deadline: Feb. 14, 2020
  • IRB submission deadline: Feb. 14, 2020
  • Application deadline: April 10, 2020, 5 p.m. Central Time