O’Shaughnessy Named American Industrial Hygiene Association Fellow

Published on July 22, 2014

A portrait of Patrick O'Shaughnessy of the University of Iowa College of Public Health.
Patrick O’Shaughnessy

Patrick O’Shaughnessy, professor of occupational and environmental health at the University of Iowa College of Public Health, has been named a Fellow of the American Industrial Hygiene Association (AIHA). Fellows of AIHA are individuals who have been full members in good standing for a minimum of 15 years, and have been nominated for their recognized achievement in the field of industrial hygiene. No more than five percent of the full members of AIHA are given the title Fellow.

“The Fellow designation has become a mark of excellence and achievement for AIHA members,” said AIHA President Barbara J. Dawson, CIH, CSP. “Members chosen to be Fellows have been nominated by colleagues in the profession because they represent extraordinary accomplishments and contributions to the profession and to AIHA. It is both a privilege and pleasure to congratulate this year’s Fellows on behalf of Awards Committee.”

The 2014 AIHA Fellows were recognized at the American Industrial Hygiene Conference and Exposition in San Antonio, Texas, on June 4.

O’Shaughnessy, who directs the NIOSH-funded Heartland Center for Occupational Health and Safety at the University of Iowa, has expertise in the general area of aerosol physics, specializing in the assessment of aerosol sampling devices, the hazards associated with nanoparticles, the properties of respirators worn in agricultural environments, and the dispersion of dusts and gases spatially from air pollution sources. He is the Associate Head for Student Affairs and Curriculum in the UI Department of Occupational and Environmental Health. He was nominated by the Aerosol Technology Committee of AIHA, led by Dr. Maura Sheehan, professor in the Department of Health at West Chester State University, and Dr. Renee Anthony, assistant professor of occupational and environmental health at the University of Iowa.