Health Management and Policy News


Download current and previous editions of our annual department newsletter.

Call for abstracts: HEAL health equity summit

Undergraduate and graduate students are invited to submit an abstract for possible poster presentation at the April 4, 2019, Health Equity Advancement Lab (HEAL) Summit at the College of Public Health. Abstracts are due by Nov. 5, 2018. Published October 4, 2018

PHOTOS: MHA students attend ACHE/CHEF fair

Our second-year MHA students attended the ACHE/CHEF Fellowship Fair in Chicago last month. Published October 3, 2018

Research shows quality of life is just as important as jobs in developing rural areas

Today, only about a third of Iowans are rural residents, and a frequent discussion among policy makers is how to revive the areas where they live and create sustainable communities. Those discussions often focus on bringing new employers to town. But researchers affiliated with the Rural Policy Research Institute (RUPRI) say that while jobs are important, the effort to increase wealth in rural communities has to go beyond big employers and new jobs. (Iowa Now) Published October 1, 2018

RUPRI’s Richgels discusses summertime experiences of rural children

Jocelyn Richgels, director of national policy programs for the Rural Policy Research Institute, was an invited panelist at a National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine information gathering session held Sept. 19 in Washington, D.C. The session was convened by the Committee on Summertime Experiences and Child and Adolescent Education, Health, and Safety. The committee, chaired by Martín Sepúlveda, IBM Fellow, CEO of CLARALUZ, LLC., and long-time member of the College of Public Health Board of Advisors, is studying how summertime experiences affect children across four areas of well-being. Published September 21, 2018

Zhu research shows care teams perform well when members accurately know each other’s expertise

Interdisciplinary care teams (ICTs) are increasingly used to care for very complex individuals, such as those with significant mental health and behavioral challenges. A recent joint study by researchers at the University of Iowa and the University of Minnesota revealed some teamwork factors in ICTs producing high-quality care. The study was co-authored by Xi Zhu, UI associate professor of health management and policy, and Douglas Wholey, professor emeritus at the University of Minnesota School of Public Health. (University of Minnesota) Published September 14, 2018

MHA student teams gear up for fall case competitions

Several student teams will represent the University of Iowa Department of Health Management and Policy at upcoming case competitions. See who will be traveling to Orlando and Kansas City this fall! Published September 13, 2018

‘Assessing Rural Futures’ takes place Oct. 8

Join a conversation about rural economies and sustainability with visiting scholars Matt Fannin and Thomas Johnson. "Assessing Rural Futures Using the Comprehensive Wealth Framework" will take place Monday, Oct. 8, from 12:30 to 1:30 p.m. in Ellig Classroom (N120 CPHB). Published September 12, 2018

Q&A with Brian Kaskie

Read a Q&A with Brian Kaskie, CPH associate professor of health management and policy, to learn more about his interests in the field of aging, advice for students, and importance of mentors. Published September 12, 2018

Meet Dexter Golinghorst, president of GPSG

Dexter Golinghorst is the new president of the UI Graduate and Professional Student Government (GPSG). He is a third-year student in the College of Law with a focus on health care-related law and a first-year Master of Health Administration student. Read about the skills and experience he brings to his new position and what he aims to accomplish this year. Published September 6, 2018

Kaskie chosen as Public Policy & Aging Report’s new editor

The Gerontological Society of America (GSA) -- the nation's largest interdisciplinary organization devoted to the field of aging -- has appointed Brian Kaskie, associate professor in the UI Department of Health Management and Policy, as the editor-in-chief of Public Policy & Aging Report. Published September 5, 2018


Questions or comments? Contact Brianne Johnson. This page was last reviewed on April 24, 2015.